Achieving the Vision Update

ABMS News Release (05/20/19)

The American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) has announced the members of the Continuing Board Certification: Achieving the Vision Oversight Committee, which will spearhead the implementation of recommendations outlined by the Continuing Board Certification: Vision for the Future Commission in its final report earlier this year. The named members include Larry A. Green, M.D., the ABMS Board's chair-elect; Richard E. Hawkins, M.D., ABMS president and CEO; Carolyn L. Kinney, M.D., the American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation's executive director; Michael R. Nelson, M.D., Ph.D., president of the American Board of Allergy & Immunology; and Vision Commission member George D. Wendel Jr., M.D., executive director of the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology. ABMS Board Chair Barry S. Smith, M.D., will head the Oversight Committee, which will solicit guidance from the ABMS Stakeholder Council and various other stakeholders in the continuing certification process. This guidance will help direct the work of five task forces, in relation to the Achieving the Vision implementation plan. Those task forces will focus on standards, advancing practice, information/data sharing, professionalism, and remediation.

Read More


Recent Stories
Alliance Podcast Episode 18: Spotlight on Leadership

Comparison of In-Person Versus Tele-Ultrasound Point-of-Care Ultrasound Training During the COVID-19 Pandemic

Rockpointe Presents Online CME Course on Treating High-Risk Patients With COVID-19